KRÖNIKA 17/3 I ARJEPLOG TIMES

The importance of being honest

The last few weeks I’ve had reason to think a lot about the importance of being honest. To be honest to yourself, to be honest to your values and to be honest to people around you. For me it is really important tobe able to wake up every morning and be able to face myself in the mirror and say to myself: “I shall meet this day with the true intent to treat my fellows as I want them to treat myself”. The day I will look at myself, and find that I have betrayed my ideals and just become a person who will fight for myself all the time, I must stand the consequences and change my life. To fight for a position or power can never be so important that ideals and values can be betrayed.

How shall I then be able to live up to my intent? This is the most important question for me and many of my fellow politicians. Most politicians are true idealist wh have a true intention to make one’s visions come true. We have a common goal, the best for our society and the best for the inhabitants of Arjeplog. We must keep this in mind all the time, since the commission we are given by the voters in the election is to co-operate in order to improve our future.

As you have seen in the papers there are several persons competing for the highest political position in Arjeplog in the forthcoming election. The party I am representing will choose its candidate on Monday and the other parties will also soon choose their candidates. The final decision will be given by the result of the election in September. It is really good for the society that persons from different parties compete against each other. This gives the voters a chance to make a legible commission for the choosen leader.

My sincere wish is that the election campaign in Arjeplog will be characterized by honesty, respect and a true willingness to discuss  questions of fact and ideology. The election campaign on national level has not started in a very positive way, and if I would be part of what’s happening in that campaign, from both the left and the right wing parties,  I would have had reason to question my own integrity.

I am glad that the political climate in Arjeplog has changed during the last years so we today better can co-operate and together find the best ways for Arjeplog to develop. My hope is that this climate will survive the election campaign and irrespective of whom the winner of the election this autumn there will be a willingness to continue and deepen the co-operation between all parties in Arjeplog. We have far too much to loose on political shattering and disruption. We must look seriously on all suggestions made from all the different political parties.

I have an urgent request to all politicians in Arjeplog. Be honest to your values, and your ideals! Give straight answers to the inhabitants of Arjeplog and give them a clear vision of what you want to accomplish. Respect yourself and respect your fellow competitors. Then you can wake up the day after the election and state: “I can meet this day and be proud that I have treated my fellows as I have wanted them to treat myself.” Then you have worshipped your ideals and earned all the respect. Let this be a guideline for all of us!

Bengt-Urban Fransson
Mayor of Arjeplog

Kommentarer:

Skriv en ny kommentar:

Namn
Kom ihåg mig?

E-post:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback
hits