Min krönika i veckans Arjeplog Times

I received an e-mail...


Some days ago I received an e-mail from a car tester who had read my chronicle in the second last issue of The Arjeplog/Arvidsjaur Times. He was encouraged to write to me to reflect on Arjeplog in general. The e-mail was very entertaining and thought provoking in many ways and I would like to share some of his reflections.


He began by telling me how pleased he is with Arjeplog in general and that he is impressed that such a small village can provide so many facilities and after-work activities. He highlighted the hospitality of the locals and the lavish accommodation in sauna-equipped private houses.

The most striking feature, of Arjeplog, for him is the absence of crime and our local habits of leaving houses and cars unlocked. This has in fact changed over the years and today it is far more common to lock houses and cars.


The writer of the e-mail was really upset by the actions of the local constabulary related to speeding, which he thinks is the effect of the low numbers of serious crimes. As he writes: The impending doom was first indicated by the distribution of threatening brochures from the police. The matter is the speed controls made by the Police and the zero-tolerance of speeding. He also writes: Why do you want to destroy this idyllic live-and-let-live community by such extravagances? Don’t try to transform the car testers into speedometer-watching, sleeping-while-driving fools.


I cannot really understand why he is so upset since Swedish laws regulate this and everyone has to follow them but I can assure you that we do oppose lower speed limits on bigger roads outside the populated areas. The speed limits in populated areas are accepted so I can only say: When in Rome do as the Romans!


One amusing reflection in the e-mail is the locals’ dislike of lights in their homes. He thinks it is strange that our cars have very strong lights while our houses are lit with 25W bulbs. He writes: To clarify things, I’d like to inform you hereby that bulbs in the Free World start at 60W. You behave as if there was not enough darkness here....You may find dim light romantic or beautiful, but for us, it’s just destroying our eyes and it’s depressing. According to Swedish suicide statistics, just as depressing for you, apparently.


I must confess that I have never reflected on this, but after receiving the e-mail I am starting to agree. We Swedes love the cosy atmosphere created by dim lights and candles.


I can only console the writer of the e-mail with the thought of the very bright summer days and nights up here. In the summer he wouldn’t miss the 100W bulbs. Maybe we need to balance the light of the midnight sun with the darkness of the polar nights.


I look forward to receiving more e-mails with reflections upon Arjeplog. I read the e-mail with great interest and a lot of pleasure. It made my day.

 

Bengt-Urban Fransson

Mayor of Arjeplog


Kommentarer:

Skriv en ny kommentar:

Namn
Kom ihåg mig?

E-post:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback
hits